top of page

Intro to Chakras

Chakras are energy centers within our bodies. We have 114 in total but I am only going to talk about the main 7 chakras that I have learnt about. If you are on a path of spiritual evolution, learning about chakras can be extremely useful and helpful. "These are energy locations through which vital energy flows and which can be identified, seen and healed. The idea of chakra comes from yoga, but it has been incorporated in different spiritual practices. The chakra system was developed in India in the middle ages. Chakra is Sanskrit word meaning 'wheel'." –Soul Union These energy bodies are also known as Prana energy centers which translates from Sanskript, in Hinduism, as “life force” energy. They line up from the base of your spine up to and out your head. I’ll briefly describe each one, from my perception and research of them, starting from the bottom up.


The Root Chakra – Muladhara – Colour: Red

The root chakra is the first chakra at the base of your spine, just below your coccyx. Its official Sanskrit name given in Hinduism is Muladhara. It represents root and support. Its role is to keep you grounded by connecting all of your energy with the Earth. Its functions are safety, grounding, and right to live.

The Sacral Chakra – Svadhisthana – Colour: Orange

The sacral chakra is located above the root chakra and below the navel. Svadhishana translates from Sanskrit to “the place of the self.” The sacral chakra is also known as the emotional chakra. When your sacral chakra is well-balanced, it brings you creative energy and enjoyment. Its functions are emotions, creativity, and sexuality.

The Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura – Colour: Yellow