top of page

Intro to Chakras

Chakras are energy centers within our bodies. We have 114 in total but I am only going to talk about the main 7 chakras that I have learnt about. If you are on a path of spiritual evolution, learning about chakras can be extremely useful and helpful. "These are energy locations through which vital energy flows and which can be identified, seen and healed. The idea of chakra comes from yoga, but it has been incorporated in different spiritual practices. The chakra system was developed in India in the middle ages. Chakra is Sanskrit word meaning 'wheel'." –Soul Union These energy bodies are also known as Prana energy centers which translates from Sanskript, in Hinduism, as “life force” energy. They line up from the base of your spine up to and out your head. I’ll briefly describe each one, from my perception and research of them, starting from the bottom up.


The Root Chakra – Muladhara – Colour: Red

The root chakra is the first chakra at the base of your spine, just below your coccyx. Its official Sanskrit name given in Hinduism is Muladhara. It represents root and support. Its role is to keep you grounded by connecting all of your energy with the Earth. Its functions are safety, grounding, and right to live.

The Sacral Chakra – Svadhisthana – Colour: Orange

The sacral chakra is located above the root chakra and below the navel. Svadhishana translates from Sanskrit to “the place of the self.” The sacral chakra is also known as the emotional chakra. When your sacral chakra is well-balanced, it brings you creative energy and enjoyment. Its functions are emotions, creativity, and sexuality.

The Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura – Colour: Yellow

The solar plexus chakra is located around the stomach area. Its name in Sanskrit, Manipura, translates to “lustrous gem.” It is where your self-confidence, wisdom, and personal power are seated. Its functions are will, social self, and power.

The Heart Chakra – Anahata – Colour: Green

The heart chakra is located, you guessed it, right over your heart at the center of your chest. “It radiates down below the breastbone and up to your throat chakra.” –mindvalley blog Its name in Sanskrit, Anahata, translates to “unhurt.” “This chakra is where your love, compassion and kindness are empowered.” –mindvalley blog It is the chakra associated with love for others and love for yourself. Its functions are love, compassion, and integration


The Throat Chakra – Visshudha – Colour: Turquoise Blue

The throat chakra is located right in between your collarbone, around your throat/thyroid area. Visshudha translates from Sanskrit to “very pure.” “It radiates down to the center of your heart and up to the center of your eyes.” “This chakra gives a voice to your personal truths.” –mindvalley blog When this chakra is well-balanced, you’ll be able to express clearly with love, kindness, and truth. Its functions are personal truth, communication, and expression.

The Third Eye Chakra – Ajna – Colour: Indigo

The third eye chakra is located in between your eyebrows just above your eyes. Its name in Sanskrit, Ajna, translates to “beyond wisdom.” Some say this chakra is associated with the pineal gland, the gland in our brain that regulates our wake/sleep patterns. Its functions are extra-sensory perception, intuition, and inspiration.

The Crown Chakra – Sahaswara – Colour: Violet & White

The crown chakra is located at the top of your head. “It radiates down to between your eyes and then extends infinitely upward and outward, connecting you to the energy of the rest of the universe.” –mindvalley blog Sahaswara translates to “thousand petaled.” “This chakra is pure consciousness energy.” –mindvalley blog It represents your connection to all of consciousness. Its functions are wisdom, transcendence, and universality.

Some ways to help keep your chakra energies generally well-balanced and flowing freely are meditation, yoga, and eating a wide range of colourful fruits and vegetables, hence my page Smoothies for Chakras. Healing stones & crystals, visualization techniques, affirmations and using essential oils are other known ways that help with balancing and healing the chakras. Blocked energy in our chakras can often lead to illness, therefore it’s important to stay balanced and connected. Knowing what the chakras represent helps me stay balanced by helping me see where I am missing energy from or experiencing an energy block and what areas can use more tending to.

There is so much information out there about chakras and energy centers, about what happens in our lives and our bodies when they are imbalanced, and the benefits you can experience from well-balanced chakras. If this resonated with you and you’re interested in learning more about chakras, or if you think you’re experiencing energy blocks, then I recommend you look into chakra healing and balancing and try meditation.

Below are some links I used to help me create my article that talk more about chakras, what they represent, and how to keep them well-balanced:

-General information about the chakras:

-General roles of each chakra and provides some visualization techniques + what crystals & stones to use for healing:

-Goes more in-depth about each chakra and how to regulate them and provides meditation techniques to help tune into them:

-Provides tools for emotional healing of energy blocks associated with the chakras:

-Provides lots of great information about the chakras and includes how to help bring balance to them using essential oils and affirmations and provides other healing strategies as well as the body associations to each chakra:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
bottom of page